Fantasy Made Official

FSWA_logoThe fantasy basketball season wrapped up this week, and house favorite Redheaded Clergymen pulled out the W. My girlfriend managed to get third, so that’s also a small victory. She didn’t make any real moves during the season, so it’s interesting to me that her and I had completely different strategies, but both teams still did well. I guess I might start trusting my gut more and letting players ride.

2013-14 nba
Needless to say, I basically jumped on the fantasy baseball bandwagon because I had missed the playoffs in fantasy football and basketball, and my girlfriend was an absentee owner and finished better than I did.

But so far, it hasn’t been great. Right now, I’m 0-2, but I think I’m starting to get the hang of it. It took me a lil while before I realized the value of great starting pitchers.

pitchers

As you can see, I’ve got several pitchers who can get 20 or more fantasy points with a solid effort on the mound. I’ve also loaded up on a few relief pitchers to get me points when I have used up all 12 of my possible pitching starts for our match ups. Starting only 12 pitchers during a match up has given me some grief, in that I’ve sat a couple dudes who have gotten 20 points or more. But I’m hoping that the season will be so long that I can start to spot some trends after play levels out. Right now I feel pretty confident in my pitching squad. My main squad of batters and fielders isn’t much to write about, though.

batters

Some nights I’ll pull up the screen to see who has scored, and one or two position players maybe will have had a good night, but unless a guy gets a HR or RBI’s, there’s usually not much scoring going on, which makes the games seem kinda dull. I can say, though, that I’ve started to watch out for my players on Sportscenter. Today there was a clip of Andrew McCutchen hitting a homer, and I was like, “Ahhhh yeaauuhh.”

Still losing for the most part, though. A lot of games recently have been postponed or suspended or delayed cause of weather, so I haven’t had a whole lot of scoring, but I’m still close so far this week:

this week

On the plus side, I learned this week that I’ve been accepted into the Fantasy Sports Writers Association. This is a big accomplishment for me. It really means that all of my hard work finally has paid off. Thanks to all the fans for supporting me!

Leave a comment